unique1

Topic: Pretreatment process for Steel

Hi, I am pretty new to the powder coating industry and i'm getting some bigger clients in day to day.

I'm in the process of getting a pretreatment setup going. My main concern is to setup something that is small at the moment.

I have a batch oven and i need to setup the pretreatment station to do steel newspaper racks for a customer. I currently have the phosphate chemicals to do so.

How does the setup need to be? Example: (1) Degreaser (2) Water Wash (3) Phosphate (4) Water Wash.

Or could i just go to Degreaser,Phosphate, then wash? Or will that contaminate the phosphate?

Any advice from those who have first hand experences in this would be GREAT!

skip

Re: Pretreatment process for Steel

Here is an example to introduce the general idea. A Powder coater asks in a 'Finishing Fourm' from 'Product Finishing Magazine'...

"Doing steel newspaper racks in P-coat and asks..."How does the setup need to be? Example: (1) De-greaser (2) Water Wash (3) Phosphate (4) Water Wash." "Or could I just go to De-greaser, Phosphate, then wash? Or will that contaminate the phosphate?"

skip talking here. Wire is hard to clean, what with embedded drawing compounds that cool the die such as wax, powdered lime, heat treating smut, scale from the steel, general high Rockwell hardness and once powder coated, shipping this stuff unscratched is a pain, ect. Skip did a wire rack p-coat line in Chicago for a guy who made display end cap fixtures for magazines in food stores.

The fast answer: If your buying a conveyorized direct or indirect gas fired or steam heated power spray or immersion dip five stage or three stage washer a durable and 'waranteed finish' can be achieved. A wand will produce a 'point-of-purchase' finish.

A skipisum~Your competition will provide this if you don't...but $'s are tight so...we dream.

15 second entrance vestibule

60 second hot spray wash. Vee jet nozzle.

30 second dwell*.